My First Wedding Shoot

I don’t claim to be a wedding photographer. I don’t have the experience or the equipment I feel is necessary for such an important event. However, when my nephew asked me to be the official photographer at his wedding last fall, I was honored and excited to accept. The day went beautifully, and I was very pleased with the results I got (and I think the happy couple were too!). I thought I would post a few of my favorites, and explain why I like them.

Final Touches

I caught the bride, Lauren, applying the finishing touches to her make up. For a slightly different result I decided to focus on her reflection on the mirror, and I love the result. I thought this shot would look great converted to sepia.

Don’t spill it!

I kept my camera ready at all times, so I was able to capture this fun shot of the bridesmaids attempting to keep the dress free of any spills.

Beautiful Bride

I just love this shot. Lauren was standing below me, and was back-lit with bright sunshine coming in through the front door. It surrounded her with a luminous glow as I looked down on her. Her smile and gaze are just perfect too.

Amazing smile

Another one taken from above. Lauren is sitting on some stairs, now lit from the front by the sunshine, and I leaned over the railing to get the shot. I love the look of joy on her face, and I think the black and white finish is a nice choice.

Mirror, mirror…

This was a shot specifically requested by the bride, and I love how it turned out. Again I focused on the reflection, keeping the back of the bride also in the frame. This time I left the reflection in color with the rest of the image in black and white. It almost makes you feel that the reflection is the real person, and makes you study the picture for a while to take it all in.

Relaxing

I love the lighting in this shot. Once again the sunlight is coming in behind Lauren, but this time it’s muted by the net curtains so it’s not so overpowering. I love her relaxed pose on the couch, something she did naturally, and I really like the muted colors and the glow behind her and catching on her dress. It gives the picture a very serene look.

The Ring

Another one of my all-time favorites. Such a simple shot, but it came out beautifully. Once again we have the lovely lighting from the window. I softened the whole image, then re-sharpened just the ring. It really makes the ring stand out.

Sneaking a glance

This is near the beginning of the ceremony. I love the sneaky glance Mike, the groom, is giving Lauren.

The view from the back

I love this shot taken from the back of the church, as it shows off the beautiful architecture of the church, as well as capturing the bride and groom kneeling as they prepare to make their vows, and the guests in the pews. A little bit of everything.

The kiss!

They’re husband and wife! Another shot that just came out perfectly. All I had to do was soften it and convert to black and white for that classic wedding image.

She’s all mine

This was another unplanned shot that came out beautifully. We were waiting around outside for everyone to get organized, and I asked them to sit on the steps for a few pictures. This was the first one I got. I love the natural pose, the bright colors, and of course the look on Mike’s face!

Memories

Time to move on to the reception, and I wanted to make sure I captured all the little details that went into the event. This is another simple shot that will prove to be a cherished memory of the day.

Time to party!

Of the many photos I took at the reception, this is one of my favorites. Mike and Lauren look so happy and relaxed. I love the lighting, too. I turned my flash off and just used the disco lights, and it worked much better than I expected.

It was a wonderful day. Although I worked hard, I was still able to enjoy the celebration of my nephew’s marriage. And the hard work was worth it. I ended up with over 300 hundred great shots for the couple to keep. I have no plans to start doing this professionally, I prefer to stick to portraits. But if another friend asked, I wouldn’t say no :)

Leave a Reply

