2013 Photo-a-day: January Week 1

Happy New Year! New year, new project. 365 days, one photo a day. A different theme for each month. January is ‘Winter’. Let’s jump right in.

Day One

Day One

This was the tail end of our New Year’s party. Six out of the seven children there saw in the new year awake! It was a fun, relaxing evening. I think we got to bed around 2:00 AM! As it was so late when I took this picture, and people were getting ready to leave, I just snapped a quick shot without really worrying about posing or background. Also I seemed to lose some of the sharpness when I edited it. So yes, it could have been better, but it’s the memory that’s important, recording who was there. And at least they are all smiling!

Day Two

Day Two

Winter is cold! We’re too low for snow here, but we do get an overnight frost during the winter. I used my macro lens to get this shot of a leaf on the front lawn first thing in the morning. In my pajamas!

Day Three

Day Three

School’s out for winter break, so we hit the park with a few friends. It was colder than it looks in this picture, but the kids just don’t feel it! This is actually a composite image. I didn’t manage to get one shot with all the kids in it, so I took one of the boys from another picture and added it to this one. I think it worked well, so I’m not going to tell you which one I added! It worked because I took both pictures from the same position and in the same light.

Day Four

Day Four

What better way to warm up after being out in the cold than a mug of hot chocolate. With peppermint flavored whipped cream and a drizzle of chocolate syrup! If I’d had more time I would have re-shot this on a different background. I think it’s too similar in color to the drink. But the baby was getting fussy, so this had to do. I like that the mug is made of glass, though, so you can see the drink inside.

Day Five

Day Five

I’m fighting off my second cold in a month. Winter germs. A nice background created by the underside of my comforter though.

Day Six

Day Six

Elizabeth’s snow boots. As I said before, we’re too low for snow here. But that doesn’t stop her wearing them! This is another shot which would have benefited from a better background, again if I’d had more time. I was hoping the bright light outside would blow out and give me a nice bright background, but it was a dull, dark day.

Day Seven

Day Seven

Russian Christmas! My late mother-in-law was from the Ukraine, so they always celebrated Russian (Orthodox) Christmas in my husband’s house. Now we do too. This is another composite image, but I’m not as happy with this one. The kids were on opposite sides of the room when I took the shots, and at slightly different angles to me. I did what I could in Photoshop to bring them in line with each other, and I think I just about got away with it. But I think once you know it’s a composite it’s obvious, so I’m not particularly happy with this one.

1 week down, 51 to go!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

