2013 Photo-a-day: January Week 2

Day 8 - Snowman

Day 8

This is about as close as we get to snow here! I took this picture with my macro lens. The snowman was tiny, maybe an inch tall. He was hanging on a miniature decorated tree we have on the coffee table. I added a little glow to the ‘lights’ to make them a little more realistic.

Day 9

Day 9

My fuzzy teddy bear! We received this winter suit as a gift, and I love it! I think Evan looks like a teddy bear when he’s in it. It’s very cold in the morning when we walk to school, but this keeps him toasty and warm.

Day 10

Day 10

Daffodils in January? That’s winter in California!  These flowers are quite small, the heads are less than 2 inches across. I got down low so I would be face on to them, and made sure to fill the frame with flowers. The final effect with a few flowers in focus and the rest blurred in the background is exactly what I wanted.

Day 11

Day 11

I had planned to get a shot of a bare tree to represent winter, and I had the idea to try and set it against a nice sunset to make it more interesting. I wasn’t sure if I would get the perfect conditions before the end of the month, but I got lucky on day 11. While not quite the beautiful sunset I had originally envisaged, this dramatic stormy sky lit by the setting sun makes an amazing background. I tried shooting several different trees, but I loved the texture of this one.

Day 12

Day 12

A simple shot. Candles to light the dark winter nights. Another photo I took with my macro lens, because I wanted to get a nice shallow depth of field. For the backdrop I used a piece of blue construction paper (actually the back of one of Elizabeth’s projects). I used a flash when taking the shot to ensure it was well lit, then took the exposure down in Photoshop to bring out that warm candlelight glow.

Day 13

Day 13

We finally took the Christmas decorations down! Before we put the tree away I got a picture of it bare and unadorned. I decided to convert the picture to black and white as it was such a simple image. It kind of looks like it’s covered in snow, doesn’t it?

Day 14

Day 14

Like I said earlier, it’s quite chilly in the mornings! While Evan has his cozy winter suit, the other two have to make do with padded jackets and woolen hats, scarves and gloves.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

