2013 Photo-a-day: February Week 2

Day 39

Day 39

My husband, the love of my life. It was his birthday, and we had dinner with friends. He had already blown the candle out when I took the picture, so I copied a flame from another photo and added it digitally.

Day 40

Day 40

My daughter after participating in Girl Scout’s Thinking Day. This was a day where each troop had a booth to display information about different countries and cultures around the world. It teaches the girls to understand, appreciate and love the diversity of our world.

Day 41

Day 41

One of the cutest little girls on the planet :)  This is the daughter of our good friends, and we were invited to celebrate her first birthday with her. First birthdays are so special, especially when surrounded by people who love you. And cupcakes :)

Day 42

Day 42

My husband bought me this necklace for Christmas a few years ago. I can’t think of a better explanation of the bond between child and mother. As you can see it has been well-worn. To get this image I hung the necklace over the top of my jewelry box with the lid up and shot with my macro lens. There is a mirror inside the lid, so I tried to get the other side of the pendant reflected in the mirror, but I couldn’t get enough depth of field to get it in focus. So instead I switched to a shallow depth of field to completely blur out the background, then just added a second shot of the other side in the corner. I converted the image to sepia for a nice finish.

Day 43

Day 43

Evan, my littlest love. 5 months old in this picture! He’s not quite sitting up yet, so I tipped the chair he’s sitting in back a little to prevent him falling forward. Then I just started shooting, capturing all his funny expressions and poses :)

Day 44

Day 44

“For God so loved the world…” Ash Wednesday. We went as a family to mass in the evening. By the time we got home the kids had already rubbed their crosses off, but my husband’s was still clear.

Day 45

Day 45

Happy Valentine’s Day! Once I got the idea for this shot in my head, I had to do it. These aren’t real roses, they’re fabric ones we were given just after the birth of our first son. But I think with the softening filter I added you can’t really tell.

Leave a Reply

